Archive: Grukk Face-Rippa

grukk2

I bought the Stormclaw Space Wolves-Orks campaign box in mid-2014, and used the contents to begin an Ork army, which I painted mostly between February and October 2015. Grukk Face-Rippa was the first Ork painted and it’s a fantastic miniature, I love it, it’s one of my favourites. It’s very 3D. The face is serious, which works well with the preposterous Squig, claw and gun.

I like my Space Orks dour and serious, so I picked the Goff clan. This lets me focus the miniature on the green of the skin, with any interesting things being picked out in a bit of colour, mostly red. Grukk being the most senior Ork features a lot more colour than the rest of the army, which will be presented in the next few blog posts. I also decided to put checks on everything. I worked out a fairly effective and efficient method which you can see here.

Leave a Reply

