Showcase: Purple Marines Terminator Librarian

The first completed miniature of the Purpamarines! This guy was given to me for my birthday in December. I had it on a Christmas list, mostly because I just thought it was a good mini. Once I received it, I thought I should combine him with the Space Hulk terminators, thus beginning a new Chapter.

It’s a bit disappointing that the first Purple Marine to meet the world isn’t particularly purple, but librarians are blue and that’s that. Consulting the internet, I’ve discovered that this guy is in fact an Epistolary, owing to the symbols on his tabard.

This was the first time I used the Agrellan Earth technical paint to decorate a base, rather than gluing on sand like I usually do. It took a few goes to get it right; I found it worked best after undercoating the base first with Mournfang Brown, which you can see around the edge of the base. I will add some dead grass, but I don’t have access to any right now. I don’t know if I prefer the look of this to painted sand, but applying this is considerably faster than gluing on and painting sand.

For reference, the Purple Marines will look something like this:

spacemarine

But I’m in no hurry to do these guys, so this will be a very slow project.

Leave a Reply

